Social Media Scams with Facebook and Twitter

by matt on September 18, 2009 · 1 comment

Job hunters are being scammed into giving up money for these so called “Make money with Facebook” or “Make money with Twitter” opportunities, these desperate people need jobs and at times like this I understand the need for a job and money but do not trust the hype and large promises of fast easy money. Make sure before you read the 10 Signs of a Scam so you can understand how to find the scams and shams.

According to the US Dept of Labor Statistics in August the number of unemployed is 14.9 million people. These people are looking everywhere for something and with the job market not getting much better the scams and the people running the scams are getting richer.

Twitter and other Social Media Sites targets for scammers

Twitter and other Social Media Sites targets for scammers

With promises of fast easy cash people are pulling out the credit cards and signing up. On of these companies at EasyTweetProfits.com is claiming you can make fast cash with twitter, on the front page of the site they are claiming you can make $250-$873 a day from posting links on twitter.

Facebook is also a target but not for the same things, Facebook is phishing heaven as people want your account because you have personally verified every connection on Facebook. These connections are valuable because you are considered a trusted resource to your connections. This means if someone can get your username and password and post some links to scams or shams they are more likely to get a click through and a possible customer.

EasyTweetProfits.com was registered on GoDaddy.com on the April 29th 2009 according to the whois record. It was registered via DomainsByProxy.com which basically does private registration so that no one can see who is really behind it. But by using the terms and conditions of these sites you can find more information about the scams used and who is behind it.


We found two more sites that are using the same customer support numbers. We also see several other domains that are hosted on these servers that are probably up and coming or previous scam or sham domains. They are productcustomersupport.com, loadmodsource.com, onlinecareersystem.com, athomereview.com, creativejuice.com and a few others. Now to me these domains do indeed look fishy.

iSocialMembers.com another property of the social scams

iSocialMembers.com another property of the social scams

These groups appear to be run by “Transactions Online Business Ltd” which is located at

65 Chaytor Road
Bridgehill, County Durham
Consett DH8 8QH
United Kingdom.

Now of course searching on this company just shows the normal rip off reports and scam alerts about buying something for 2 dollars and getting charged later for $47.00 dollars and I believe if you will follow the 10 Signs of a Scam you will find ways to not fall for these types of scams.

I have also some reason to believe that the same servers are hosting some Acai Berry scams because the addresses are in the same range but until I can prove it I will not say for sure. Some domain tools do indeed point to this however.

The BBB has also warned about these scams and has issued an alert back in July about these types of scams but they are still running around and making money.

“Twitter is the newest bright shiny object online and a perfect hook for yet another work-at-home scheme,” said Steve Cox, BBB spokesperson. “The pitch used to be about making money by sending e-mails or by placing ads on Google but now cash-strapped job hunters need to be wary of shelling out money for a dubious scheme that revolves around Twitter.”

Another property of social media scams

Another property of social media scams

Please look at everything before signing up. I will be looking for more information on this group of people to try to find out who is behind it. I intend on building a who is who in scams with a 6 degrees of separation so we can see what is really going on in the mind and hearts of scammers and who they know.

I would like your comments on this scam and as always please signup for our RSS feeds so you can keep in touch with what is going on in the world of scams and shams.




{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

1 Wim Scrooby January 28, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Please advise me if “Cash 1234″ is also a scam. Thank you, Wim.

Reply

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Previous post:

Next post: